No country more beautiful. Following the hedges., 2010

(Arborvitea (Tree of Life), secateurs)
300 x 180 x 600 cm

Visitors to the art campus at Art Cologne were allowed to freely trim a hedge of arbour vitae at “No country more beautiful. Following the hedges”. Shears were provided as tools.
The title of the installation is a compound of the German folksong “Kein schöner Land” (No country more beautiful) and the song “Silent Hedges” by the British Dark Wave band Bauhaus. Both songs talk about stability, peace and freedom. “Silent Hedges” refers to the novel ‘Brave New World’ by Aldous Huxley, with its themes of semblance and insecurity within systems, while the lyrics by Wilhelm von Zuccalmaglio relate to an idealistic perception of trust and hope.
A hedge, trimmed in the conventional way, functions as a border with and demarcation of the surrounding area. So the hedge which appears “natural” in our society is really a constructed natural image. It is seen as a phenomenon rooted in tradition and culture, drawing lines through the countryside and creating territories.
The way the hedge is perceived changes continually throughout the exhibition – from typical trade-fair green accessory to exhibit to artwork. The hedge installation becomes part of the investigation of conditions. Through constant trimming the state of the hedge sometimes looks like handwriting or something similar. After four days of the exhibition, the hedge was almost crippled by people’s intervention.
After Art Cologne, the bushes were replanted by the river Rhine.

 

silent hedges. kein schoener land

silent hedges

Kein schöner Land. Following the hedges., 2010

(Lebensbaum, Gartenscheren)
300 x 180 x 600 cm

Bei „Kein schöner Land. Following the hedges.“ durften Besucher des art-campus auf der Art Cologne eine Hecke aus Lebensbaum frei beschneiden. Heckenscheren dienten dafür als Werkzeug.
Der Titel setzt sich aus dem deutschen Volkslied „Kein schöner Land“, und dem Song „Silent Hedges“ der britischen Dark-Wave-Band Bauhaus zusammen. Beide Lieder erzählen von Stabilität, Frieden und Freiheit. „Silent Hedges“ bezieht sich auf den Roman „Brave New World“ von Aldous Huxley und thematisiert Schein und Unsicherheit innerhalb von Systemen, während der Text von Wilhelm von Zuccalmaglio vom Idealbild über das Vertrauen und der Hoffnung erzählt.
Die Hecke, konventionell beschnitten, funktioniert als Grenze und Abtrennung zur nächstliegenden Umgebung. So entpuppt sich die „natürliche“ Hecke in unserer Gesellschaft als instrumentalisierte Naturerscheinung. Sie zeigt sich als ein traditionell und kulturell verankertes Phänomen, dass sich linienförmig durch die Landschaft zieht und Territorialgebiete entstehen lässt.
Ihre Wahrnehmbarkeit verändert sich im Laufe der Messe ständig - zwischen typischem Messe-Pflanzen-Accesoir, Ausstellungseinheit für Messen und Kunstobjekt. Die aufgestellte Hecke wird zum Teil der Untersuchung der Verhältnisse. Durch den kontinuierlichen Beschnitt zeigt der Zustand der Hecke zwischenzeitlich eine Art Schriftzug, o.ä.. Nach vier Tagen Messe wurde die Hecke durch das Eingreifen nahezu verstümmelt.
Die Pflanzen wurden nach der Art Cologne am Rhein ausgesetzt.

 

silent hedges. kein schoener land

silent hedges