platformed, 2014


(table boards, ironwall of a pool, sand, building waste, pedestals, wood)
1200 x 700 x 100 cm

Installationview, ZONTA COLOGNE AWARD 2014, Fuhrwerkswaage Kunstraum, Cologne

“platformed” consists of ca. 140 table tops that have been raised to a hight of 1 meter. Within this surface of accessible boards there lies a large hole which has been partially filled with building rubble.
The table is a place of communication and coming together. Likewise the term platform is commonly used as a place of exchange of ideas.
The individual table tops form a new level and a common ground. The singular table tops melt together to form a mosaic entity. Furthermore, the right-angled table tops seem to have formed territories with unnatural boundary lines, as if someone had drawn lines through a landscape. The heightening within the room, the joint platform and the coming together are but temporary; they last only as long as the exhibition itself. (Like tectonic plates, this formation will keep redesigning itself.)
The Tables were purchased on Ebay, collected from bulky waste skips or donated by social facilities. They are all second-hand furniture and are in a used state. It is only when you walk across the surface that the boards start to stir: the creaking, the memories and the surface sensibility.

 

platformed unpreparedGarden platformed unpreparedGarden platformed unpreparedGarden platformed platformed unpreparedGarden platformed unpreparedGarden platformed unpreparedGarden platformed unpreparedGarden platformed unpreparedGarden platformed unpreparedGarden platformed unpreparedGarden

platformed, 2014


(Tischplatten, Stahlwandpool, Sand, Bauschutt, Normpodeste, Holz)
1200 x 700 x 100 cm

Installationsansicht, ZONTA COLOGNE AWARD 2014, Fuhrwerkswaage Kunstraum, Köln

"platformed“ besteht aus ca. 140 rechteckigen Tischplatten, die eine begehbare 70 qm Fläche auf 1m Höhe bilden. Etwas weiter hinten liegend befindet sich ein kreisrundes Loch mit einer Stahlwand, in dem man tiefer liegend ein Bauschutt-Sand-Gemenge entdeckt.
Der Tisch selbst ist Gegenstand und Ort der Kommunikation und des Zusammenfindens. So wird auch der Begriff „Plattform“ für Interessensgruppen und -orte verwendet, deren Basis Idee, Austausch und deren Verbreitung ist.
Die einzelnen Tischplatten bilden eine neue Ebene und gemeinsame Plattform. Der Inselcharaketer der einzelnen Tische verschmilzt zu mosaikartigem Ganzen und Gemeinsamen. (Ein kurzer Eindruck des „Auf-Die-Tische-Steigens“.) Als hätte man von oben Striche durch eine Landschaft gezogen, bilden die rechteckigen Tischplatten selbst Territorien mit unnatürlichen Grenzen. Die Erhöhung im Raum, das gemeinsame Podest und die Zusammenkunft sind jedoch nur temporär; eben genau so lange, wie die Ausstellung selbst andauert. (Wie die tektonischen Platten, wird sich diese Formation umkonstruieren und weiterbewegen.)
Die Tischplatten stammen von Ebay, vom Sperrmüll und aus sozialen Einrichtungen. Sie weisen Gebrauchsspuren auf ihrer Oberfläche auf. Erst durch die tastenden Schritte über die unebenen Platten bewegt sich etwas: das Knarzen, die Erinnerung und die Oberflächensensibilität.

 

platformed unpreparedGarden platformed unpreparedGarden platformed unpreparedGarden platformed platformed unpreparedGarden platformed unpreparedGarden platformed unpreparedGarden platformed unpreparedGarden platformed unpreparedGarden platformed unpreparedGarden platformed unpreparedGarden